.

Meijer Store Plans Go To The Architectural Review Board

Board will review the architectural and signage plan at 10 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 2.

The development project involving the proposed Meijer grocery and home store in Sussex will be in front of the Architectural Review Board within the next week.  

The board will review the architectural and signage plan for the Meijer store and a Meijer convenience store with a gas service station on Tuesday, Oct. 2. The meeting will be held at 10 a.m. at Village Hall. 

The store plans to hire between 200 and 250 employees, according to village officials.  

"We are real excited to start talking to them," said Trustee Pat Tetzlaff during the Village Board meeting on Tuesday. 

"There are many complexities to this but we are going to work through them. Probably every committee that is a part of Sussex will be working on this," she added.  

The Meijer store would be located at Highways K and 164 with about 60 percent of the store would be grocery. The store, which would also consist of retail and pharmacy, is expected to a little less than 200,000 square feet. 

The company has about 200 stores in the Midwest and plans to open three other stores in the metro area.

A public hearing regarding modification of village ordinance involved in the project will be held on Oct. 23. 

Angie September 27, 2012 at 08:03 PM
Yeah, luv Meijers!
Kathy Tomassetti September 28, 2012 at 01:47 AM
love Meijer stores.....I used to live in Michigan and I worked at Meijer...they are great stores...love that we will have the alternatives..
MC September 28, 2012 at 04:52 AM
I hope their groceries are reasonably priced. It will be nice to have a new grocery option in the area.
PH September 28, 2012 at 12:15 PM
I hope the produce is decent. I'm sick of buying things from Pick N Save and throwing them out the next day because they have mold on them. Perhaps Pick N Save will clean up their act if residents have more options and start shopping elsewhere. The only reason they are busy now is convenience. Bring us a Sendik's!
Jen McFarland September 28, 2012 at 03:39 PM
I would LOVE a Sendik's!! Put it in place of Pick N Save.. Chairman Bob is running Roundy's to the ground anyhow. I'm just wondering how Shopko would do against Meijer?
Resident September 28, 2012 at 05:38 PM
Let's see -- you can get groceries at multiple Pick 'n Save stores, Piggly Wiggly, Seven Eleven, some things at Shopko, Walmart, Aldi's, Costco, Super Walmart and Sendik's all within less than 10 miles -- what more options are needed. If you still want more, move to the city.
Resident September 28, 2012 at 05:44 PM
FYI - Shopko is already for sale -- and it hasn't even been 3 years since it was built.
Tommy_Boy September 28, 2012 at 07:32 PM
Could not agree more... I drive FURTHER to go to the Pick n Save in Germantown vs paying the MUCH higher prices at the Sussex Pick n Save.
Tommy_Boy September 28, 2012 at 07:35 PM
Yea, because Shopko is OUTRAGEOUSLY priced in comparison to other local options. When they have sales, their prices aren't bad, but their "full-priced" stuff is insane!!
Lisa September 29, 2012 at 01:32 PM
Shopko might be outrageously priced but they do price match which means if you are willing to look at other ads and bring them in they will match other stores sale prices.
Lisa September 29, 2012 at 01:34 PM
Also in my experience more stores makes stores competitive. Competition is good because you are more likely to find better deals. I wish we had a Woodmans here in Sussex though. They have best prices on meat markdowns and produce. I've bought ground beef for $1.50 a pound there in 2012...and green peppers 8 or 10 pack of them for 79 cents so about 10 cents each.
Resident September 29, 2012 at 01:48 PM
Did you move to Sussex because you wanted to live in an area packed full of retail and commercial businesses like Bluemound Road in Brookfield or did you move to Sussex because you liked the small town, rural atmosphere? If it is the latter, than attend the Oct. 23 public hearing and speak out against amending the zoning ordinance to double the size of buildings allowed in the village! Otherwise, we'll not only have another Bluemound Rd in our backyards, it will be flashing like the Vegas strip with all the message signs the village now allows.
Terri H. September 30, 2012 at 04:48 AM
In response to the comment from Resident, the store is not going to be right downtown or in the Village proper. It is I think far enough away not to cause too much noise to the residents, and that intersection has only businesses there.
Terri H. September 30, 2012 at 04:54 AM
By the way, you can if you want to, walk right down the middle of the road in the Village and not worry about traffic, how quiet do you like your village, if this is not quiet enough you can move further north. Believe me, I am from the North, and this is like the villages up there.
Sparky October 02, 2012 at 01:26 PM
We received an inflammatory letter in our newspaper boxes recently opposing the construction of the Meijer store due to the increased traffic, crime, tax burden, and noise. I cannot disagree more with all of those points. First, competition is always healthy and the consumer wins. Second, the influx of customers will help to grow the current commercial properties in the village and will have secondary tax benefits by bringing in additional commercial tenants. As for the points in the letter which was circulated: 1. Tax burden - a new business in the community is not a tax burden, but actually provides tax relief due to increases in property taxes. 2. Crime - How exactly will a grocery store and gas station increase the crime rate? Was this effect observed in Pewaukee with the new Costco? 3. Traffic increase - There probably will be a slight traffic increase, however, it is the south end of the Village on a State Highway built for the traffic. Increased traffic will bring more commercial tenants, so as long as the traffic is managed properly this isn't an issue. 4. Noise - I don't understand who this noise will impact since the majority of the property around the area is open land or commercial property. The fact that this store will be open 24/7 is a welcome addition to the community. There are many residents who work 2nd and 3rd shift and having the option to keep their spending within the Village is a welcome change. Thanks Sussex Village Board!
Mike B October 04, 2012 at 04:04 PM
Woodman's would be sweet. The Falls one is in such a dumb location since you have to go way north or way south of it and then curve back around. Takes way too long to get there. We'd also love a Whole Foods as well.
Bradley Peil October 04, 2012 at 07:46 PM
mister resident what do you expect when the world keeps over populating?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »