.

Patch Movie Review: The Grey

A wolf's got to eat right?

Maybe it happened in "Taken" or "Unknown", but somewhere, somehow, Liam Neeson became an action star. 

Synopsis

In one of his latest installments, Neeson stars in "The Grey" as Ottway, a man who works as a "hired killer" of sorts for an oil company in Alaska. His job: to kill wolves that may get too close to other company workers.

The oil company rough-necks appear to be taking some sort of break and are flying from their location to Anchorage. During the flight, the plane has electrical problems and crashes leaving only seven survivors. These survivors soon find out they're not alone and are looking either really tasty, or not from the neighborhood of the local wolf pack.

After some arguments, it is determined that Ottway, being the expert on such matters, should be put in charge. He decides at daybreak they need to make a beeline to the woods where they can better protect themselves.

By the time they get to the woods, they're down to five people. They need to keep moving through the snow and vast Alaskan wilderness hoping to get back to civilization while they continue to be stalked by the locals.

Review

I'm not sure I understand the reason for this movie, but the landscapes from Alaska is breathtaking in many of the scenes, and makes it almost worth the price of admission. 

There are many side stories in the movie: Ottway's wife, dying of some disease, leaving him suicidal and him remembering about his dad being a poet.  It all makes the movie even more confusing as it goes.

Liam Neeson is an excellent actor and he has made some very good movies in the past few years. Unfortunately, this one doesn't quite live up to those. The good news is, based on the coming attractions before this movie, he'll be starring in many more movies, including "Star Wars: The Phantom Menace" in 3D opening Friday!

I told a friend of mine I'd share my dad's viewpoint on this movie as well, which was, "After seeing that, I'm never going into the woods again without a gun."  Dad and the second amendment, you've got to love it!

Other actors include Dermot Mulroney, Dallas Roberts, Joe Anderson and Frank Grillo. The film is rated R for profanity & violence. There were some pretty good suspenseful moments in this movie, so I did like some parts of it. 

Overall however, I scored “The Grey” a 3 out of 5 stars.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 12:51 AM
Does anyone like "L.A. Confidential?" That's a big favorite here ...
Tommy_Boy February 11, 2012 at 12:51 AM
That is so funny you say that Heather... I hated Leo for a long time because of Titanic as well. How great would that movie have been had they just fallen off the front of.the ship right away?
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 12:56 AM
The Hurt Locker was really good. Three Kings is another good one - from the first Iraq war. The Town and Takers are both recommended as well. The second Sherlock Holmes was preposterous but so much fun and we also really like the new Batman series of films with Christian Bale. We never miss a showing of Grease or the Molly Ringwald trilogy - Sixteen Candles, Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink.
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 12:56 AM
I am looking forward to reading that series!
Heather Rayne Geyer February 11, 2012 at 12:59 AM
Heather - Since you mentioned Grease (I was OBSESSED with this movie my entire childhood...and one of my last memories of my parents together was them going to a costume party as Danny and Sandy - I have excellent pics of that too) Anyway...see this?? http://pabsttheater.org/show/greasesingalongbaam I did like LA Confidential...great cast. And Three Kings and Hurt Locker were very good. I wrote a review on Three Kings when it came out.
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 01:00 AM
It is "Inconceivable!" that you won't love "The Princess Bride."
Heather Rayne Geyer February 11, 2012 at 01:04 AM
LOL Heather. I love that you are almost as dorky as me.
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 01:12 AM
As you wish.
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 01:14 AM
I am not a fan of Leo D., but he was pretty incredible in Shutter Island. D'Oh! There's another good one! I fell asleep during Inception.
Tommy_Boy February 11, 2012 at 01:31 AM
@Heather A... I agree, Shutter Island got bad reviews and Inception got very good reviews. I really thought Shutter was excellent, and Inception was average at best.
mau February 11, 2012 at 01:50 AM
I did see that. In fact I wanted to see it so badly I actually bought it. Here is another good one Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead with Andy Garcia. Thanks for the YouTube link. I enjoyed. I seem to recall he does like to dance. I have to watch The Prophecy series yet too. I think I like him because he is so creepy :)
mau February 11, 2012 at 02:02 AM
He was also in Kill The Irishman.
mau February 11, 2012 at 02:11 AM
@JRH, I will do that. I just did a Netflix search on Christopher Walken and found several of his movies that I may have missed. I will do the same for Gabriel Byrne. Thank you.
skinnyDUDE February 11, 2012 at 02:16 AM
Great thing about movies is we can discuss and disagree and know that we like what we like . Its alot like politics only less emotion tied to your views. lol My theory is the older you get the harder it is to make a list As the old movies you seen a ton and you love , but the freshness of a new one thats great alters the enjoyment factor higher at 1st look. Its always revolving. So many I never seen So I say no to a list and YES to watching all kind of movies and hopefully enjoying them . :)
mau February 11, 2012 at 02:29 AM
@JRH, I knew his face right away just never thought of his name. The Usual Suspects, Stigmata,
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 02:47 AM
@Heather A - You already know that my definitive 'Batman' was Michael Keaton in the Tim Burton films :-) For some reason, I just can't get into the Bale/Nolan films. I love Ringwald too, but more so for her roles in 'The Pick-Up Artist' (1987), 'Fresh Horses' (1988), and other appearances.
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 02:53 AM
@HRG - No surprise that you'd love 'Norma Rae' (1979)! You should really check out my review of 'Country' (1984), as I think that'd be right up your alley as well! You'll probably get shivers running down your back when watching the posted preview clip - trust me :-)
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 02:58 AM
I like Walken as Uncle Ray in 'Excess Baggage' (1997).
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 03:02 AM
The best scene in 'Three Kings' is when they were pretending to be Saddam's motorcade. Wahlberg's performance and the writing made the film for me.
Jim Price February 11, 2012 at 03:10 AM
Is it too soon already to get back to the movie at hand? I don't want to rain on anybody's parade.... Anyway, the first time I saw the trailer for "The Grey," I thought, "Oh dear God, they're turning Jack London into a modern-day kill-thrill." My next thought was, "How unnecessary. Just make a movie of "To Build a Fire."
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 03:40 AM
@skinnyDude - I also find it extremely difficult to make a definitive numerical list of my favorites, as there's so much variety available and so many factors upon which to judge films. Not to mention that one's enjoyment of a particular film can vary greatly just by the mood that they're in and the surrounding circumstances of the moment while viewing the film.
Randy1949 February 11, 2012 at 04:22 AM
I couldn't possibly make an inclusive list. It would be far too long.
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 04:43 AM
Hard to comment on a film that I haven't seen, nor do I think I'll see it unless it shows up late-night on either Epix, Encore, or TMC, as it doesn't really appear to be my cup of tea from either the trailer or Mr. Edward's description of such. From what I am able to ascertain from what I've seen and read, it sounds like nothing more than a rip-off combination of the plotlines from 'Alive' (1993) and the independent psychological thriller 'Frozen' (2010), with elements of Steven Seagal's 'On Deadly Ground' (1994) thrown in for good measure. As such, it looks to me to be nothing more than a Neeson paycheck vehicle that was made to capitalize off his current fame and recent box-office successes. However, it appears to have found an audience that loves it for what it is, having received a 7.7 rating on IMDb to date. Perhaps there's something more to this film that can only be experienced from a proper viewing of it, but until I know for sure, I'd personally recommend the unique psychological insights offered by 'Frozen' over 'The Grey,' unless you’re a big Neeson fan and in love with the whole 'man banding together to conquer nature' sub-genre of films. I'm also partial to wolves, so I'd be very critical of this film if it does not depict them in true form or over-relies on the needless goring of such creatures for mere shock value.
Jim Price February 11, 2012 at 04:51 AM
"...mere shock value." Exactly. I'm partial to wolves myself, and since the total number of verified attacks by wolves upon humans, including in the Alaskan wilderness, could be counted on one hand missing a couple of digits, this seems less like "Man vs. Nature" and more like "Attack of the Giant Ants."
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 06:33 AM
@mau - Come on mau - you have to start renting some of my selections from Netflix, as they'll probably never offer them on the streaming service :-) BTW - 'Stigmata' was horrible, and admittedly not a very good example of Byrne's talent. For a fun-filled Byrne led film, I strongly recommend the gambling/grifting adventure 'Shade' (2003), that also stars Stuart Townsend, the gorgeous Thandie Newton, and a supporting cast of big-name familiar faces!
James R Hoffa February 11, 2012 at 07:46 AM
"Anybody want a peanut?"
mau February 11, 2012 at 04:41 PM
@JRH, we dropped the Netflix DVD rental when they upped the price. It wasn't that we are that cheap, it was because we had too much in our Que for streaming that we don't have to time to watch it all. I think we may have watched Shade when we were still getting the dvds. Problem is we watch so many movies now that I forget what they are about. Plus probably half of our Que is documentaries and old tv programs or cable tv programs. I started watching Flight From Death: The Quest for Immortality last night, the documentary he narrated. This weekend The Chekist is on our watch list. From this thread I added about 10 movies to our Que, thanks to yours and everyone's recommendations.
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 09:04 PM
"He's just mostly dead."
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) February 11, 2012 at 09:06 PM
I thought the same thing about The Grey - is this a new-world version of Jack London and please God, no.
A Reel Of One's Own February 17, 2012 at 05:48 AM
Definitely interested and counting down the days!!!! Loved the books and love Jennifer Lawrence!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »