.

Restaurant Review: Tailgator's Sports Bar & Grille

Tailgator's, a true family-friendly and cozy restaurant with excellent food.

Editor's Note: Sofia Reino is a restaurant reviewer, food aficionado, recipe tester and Sussex Patch blogger.

meant a lot to us as when we first saw our home in Sussex and decided we wanted to buy it, because it was the restaurant we chose to try with our realtor to sign the paperwork for the offer.

We instantly liked this place for its food and family-friendly atmosphere. We have gone there quite a few times, but lately have not as we were trying other local places. 

We went back last night. The restaurant part was totally filled up, and at first they told us we would have to wait 20 minutes which we decided to do. Well, within seven or 10 minutes we were sitting down.

"One of the very best prime ribs I've had, and when I asked for rare, that is exactly what I got."

The girls were not very hungry so they just went for Mac & Cheese. My husband went for the beef stroganoff (which he loved) and I for their special of the day: prime rib queen cut.

I still cannot believe I ate it all! One of the very best prime ribs I've had, and when I asked for rare, that is exactly what I got. It came with sides, and I chose mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.

Out of all of these type of sports bar and grille restaurants in Sussex, I DO love Tailgator's for its atmosphere, cozyness and actual food. Also, not only is the service excellent, they are very nice too. Jennifer, the lady who was our waitress, was absolutely fantastic, always checking if everything was ok or if we needed anything else. 

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Kristi Elise February 27, 2012 at 05:49 PM
I couldn't agree more - I actually hadn't been there for years (We're talking since it was Killarney's..) and recently went back to rediscover that the food is amazing!! I have yet to try anything that I didn't like and the service is amazing. Everyone is friendly and attentive. Highly recommended!
Sofia Reino February 27, 2012 at 07:05 PM
Kristi, When we first moved to Sussex it was indeed still called Killarney's. I wonder if with more local restaurant competition they got better as I always liked them, but this time I really was wowed by the food.
sissilala123 March 03, 2012 at 10:31 PM
This is the worst food I've ever gotten from a restaurant. Four of us in our group all ordered the fish fry. The fish was smelly, cold and very, very salty (probably over salted to cover the smelly old fish taste). Also, the potato pancakes they gave us were cold and pasty tasting. To compensate for the bad potato pancakes, they brought me mashed potatoes and gravy (see the photos in the photo gallery). This was an overall BAD experience, we will never go back, ever, and we would not recommend them.
Sofia Reino March 05, 2012 at 12:42 PM
WOW sissilala123, I am so sorry to hear that. I never had their fish fry, so I cannot testify to such, and would love other people's opinions on this..
Nancy K March 11, 2012 at 03:30 AM
We went on a Wednesday night in January. The restaurant was pretty empty. Service was good. Food was OK, but my husband was sick for several days afterward. We like Rumors much better.
Jim July 07, 2012 at 01:51 PM
All the food tasted like cigarette smoke, must be the cooks standing outside while making the food
Andy Ambrosius (Editor) July 09, 2012 at 03:18 PM
Totally gross, @Jim. I wouldn't have eaten the food.
Larry July 11, 2012 at 10:49 PM
I have to agree with Jim, I had the same thing happen. It makes sense, I get gas at Clark next store and it takes along time to fill my tank and I watch as the cooks have a cig burning outside and run back and fourth turning burgers and taking puffs and running back in exhaling. Cant do much for taste,it matches the tatoo on the neck
Sandy February 20, 2013 at 07:33 PM
Sandy, Had pizza for the first time last night, not the best. But many of the other choices are some of the best in town. Very good wraps and sandwiches. I haven't had the fish, but when I told girls at work I was going there I was told they have the best and a lot of different kinds. Not just Cod or Haddock. Will probably try that soon.
Daryl May 18, 2013 at 07:37 PM
The food is sub par at best. The owner is a condescending prick who treats his employees like crap. I've seen it first hand. On any given day, you can find drug residue in the bathrooms. I can only imagine the rest of the restaurant is as dirty as the bathrooms. I highly recommend never going to this establishment as it does nothing for the community, except promote illegal drug use.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »